Current Students


Khaled Adjerid

BME Option Student (PhD – ESM)
Socha Lab: Comparative Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Socha
Email: adjerid@vt.edu

Devon Albert

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Kemper
Email: dla16@vt.edu

Nastaran Alinezhadbalalami

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: nalinezh@vt.edu

Leigh Allin

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Madigan

Jessica Aviles

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Madigan

Mohsen Bahrami

Doctoral Student
Radiologic Sciences
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Laurienti
Email: mbahrami@wakehealth.edu

Alexis Basantis

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Doerzaph
Email: basantis@vt.edu

Leonardo Bezerra

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Whitlow
Email: lbezerra@wakehealth.edu

Megan Bland

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: mbland27@vt.edu

Alexander Borg

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Advisor: Dr. Munley & Dr. Bourland
Email: aborg@wakehealth.edu

Eamon Campolettano

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: eamonc@vt.edu

Kristine Cantin

BME Option Student (PhD-ME)
Industrian and Systems Engineering
Virginia Tech
Advisor: Dr. Nussbaum
Email: kdc14@vt.edu

Jewel Cary

Doctoral Student
IGEP – Regenerative Medicine
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Whittington
Email: jewelp7@vt.edu

Neeladri Chowdhury

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Rajagopalan
Email: neeladc@vt.edu

Scotty Chung

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Brown
Email: schung@wakehealth.edu

Casey Clark

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Atala
Email: casclark@wakehealth.edu

Katrina Colucci-Chang

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech – VTCRI Roanoke
Advisor: Dr. Poelzing
Email: kcolucc2@vt.edu

Joshua Copus

Masters Student
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem
Advisor: Dr. Atala
Email: jcopus@wakehealth.edu

Casey Costa

Combination MD/PhD Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: ccosta@wakehealth.edu

Megan Cox

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Integrative Tumor Ecology (LITE)
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Verbridge
Email: meganc4@vt.edu

Danielle Cristino

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Hardy
Email: cristi07@vt.edu

William Crowe

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Zhao
Email: wcrowe@wakehealth.edu

Willam Decker

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: wdecker@wakehealth.edu

Katherine Degan

Doctoral Student
Center for Regenerative Medicine: VTCRI
VTCRI - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gourdie
Email: ked4p@vt.edu

Harshawardhan Deshpande

Doctoral Student
Human Neuroimaging Lab
VTCRI - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. LaConte
Email: harsh87@vt.edu

Karan Devane

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel, Dr. Weaver, & Dr. Gayzik
Email: kdevane@wakehealth.edu

Kandace Donaldson

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. De Vita
Email: kandace@vt.edu

Xu Dong

Doctoral Student
X-Ray Systems Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Cao
Email: xu14@vt.edu

Temple Douglas

Doctoral Student
MultiSTEPS/IGERT Program
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. Davalos & Cimini
Email: tadougla@vt.edu

Kristin Dunford

Master’s Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Kemper
Email: kmcamp@vt.edu

Amnah Eltahir

Doctoral Student
Human Neuroimaging Lab
VTCRI – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. LaConte
Email: amnah@vt.edu

Kevin Enck

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Opara
Email: kenck@wakehealth.edu

Michael Entz

Doctoral Student
Cardiac Arrhythmia Research Laboratory
VTCRI - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Poelzing
Email: mentz2@vt.edu

Mohammad Esfahani

BME Option Student (PhD-ISE)
Occupational Ergonomics and Biomechanics Laboratories
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Nussbaum
Email: mokhles@vt.edu

James Gaewsky

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: jgaewsky@wakehealth.edu

Joel Garrett

Doctoral Student
Socha Lab: Comparative Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Socha
Email: jfg@vt.edu

Ryan Gellner

Masters Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: gryan3@vt.edu

Greg Gillispie

Doctoral Student
WFU Innovation Center
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Opara
Email: ggillisp@wakehealth.edu

Katelyn Greene

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Weaver
Email: kategree@wakehealth.edu

Allison Guettler

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. VandeVord
Email: aguett@vt.edu

Berkan Guleyupoglu

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: bguleyup@wakehealth.edu

Samantha Haus

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Gabler
Email: shaus@vt.edu

Nora Hlavac

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. VandeVord
Email: nhlavac@vt.edu

Zachary Hostetler

Masters Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Weaver
Email: zhostetl@wakehealth.edu

Cherice Hughes-Oliver

Doctoral Student
Granata Biomechanics Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Queen
Email: cnh4ph@vt.edu

Kristen Hulbert Renner

Doctoral Student
Kevin Granata Biomechanics Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Wang
Email: hulbertk@vt.edu

Tessa Hulburt

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Email: thulburt@wakehealth.edu

Alexandra Hyler

Doctoral Student
MultiSTEPS/IGERT Program
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. Davalos and Stremler
Email: ahyler@vt.edu

Haley Johnson

Masters Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Weis
Email: hbjohnso@wakehealth.edu

Derek Jones

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: derjones@wakehealth.edu

Michael Katzenberger

Masters Student
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Kemper
Email: mkatz95@vt.edu

Mireille Kelley

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: mekelley@wakehealth.edu

Melissa Kenny

Doctoral Student
Socha Lab: Comparative Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Socha
Email: mck66@vt.edu

Emily Kieffer

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech-Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: kieffere@vt.edu

Donghoon Kim

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Whitlow
Email: donkim@wakehealth.edu

Lindsey Kirk

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Wagner
Email: lkirk@wakehealth.edu

Anjaney Kothari

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rajagopalan
Email: anjaney@vt.edu

Vikram Krishnamurthy

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel & Dr. Gayzik

Timothy Leach

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Atala
Email: tleach@wakehealth.edu

Rebekah Less

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rajagopalan
Email: lessx002@vt.edu

Zhengzhi Liu

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Lu
Email: jerryliu@vt.edu

Melvin Lorenzo

Doctoral Student
Bioelectromechanical Systems Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: mflorenz@vt.edu

Zhengyi Lu

Masters Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Zhao
Email: zhlu@wakehealth.edu

Andrea Mazzocchi

Doctoral Student
WFIRM
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Soker
Email: amazzocc@wakehealth.edu

Bryce McCarthy

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Levi-Polyachenko
Email: bmccarth@wakehealth.edu

Kyle McNamara

Combination MD/PhD Student
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: TBD
Email: kpmcnama@wakehealth.edu

Liam McNamara

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel and Dr. Urban
Email: lmcnamar@wakehealth.edu

Yunzhu Meng

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. C. Untaroiu
Email: mengyz@vt.edu

Logan Miller

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: logmille@wakehealth.edu

Fatemeh Mokhtari

Doctoral Student
Radiologic Sciences
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Laurienti
Email: fmokhtar@wakehealth.edu

Jade Montgomery

Doctoral Student
Center for Regenerative Medicine: VTCRI
VTCRI – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gourdie
Email: jmont@vt.edu

Ty Morris

Master Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. S. Rowson
Email: tytymo95@vt.edu

Carolyn Mottley

Masters Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Behkam
Email: carolm4@vt.edu

Timothy O’Brien

Doctoral Student
Cancer Engineering
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Robertson
Email: tjobrien@vt.edu

Wansoo Pak

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Untaroiu
Email: wspak@vt.edu

John Patalak

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: jpatalak@wakehealth.edu

Alexander Peebles

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Queen
Email: apeebles@vt.edu

Olga Pen

Doctoral Student
X-Ray Systems Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Bourland
Email: open@wakehealth.edu

Nils Potter

Doctoral Student
Nanostructured Biopolymer Engineering Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Van Dyke
Email: npotter2@vt.edu

Shiny Rajan

Doctoral Student
The Hall Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Hall
Email: shrajan@wakehealth.edu

Sabah Rezvani

Doctoral Student
Orthopedic Mechanobiology Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Wang
Email: sabahrez@vt.edu

Andrea Rich

Masters Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Brown
Email: amrich@wakehealth.edu

Luke Riexinger

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Gabler

Felipe Rivas Duarte

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Hall
Email: frivasdu@wakehealth.edu

Ali Reza Roghanizad

BME Option Student (MS-Mechanical Engineering)
The Heat Transfer Measurements Laboratory
Blacksburg Campus - Virginia Tech
Advisor: Dr. Thomas Diller
Email: aroghani@vt.edu

Andrea Rolong

Doctoral Student
Bioelectromechanical Systems Lab
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: andrear2@vt.edu

Mona Saffarzadeh

Doctoral Student
TBD
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Weaver
Email: msaffarz@wakehealth.edu

Scott-Eugene Saverot

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rajagopalan
Email: ssaverot@vt.edu

Jamelle Simmons

Doctoral Student
Laboratory of Vascular Biology
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Y.W. Lee
Email: jmsimm13@vt.edu

Kelli Simms

Doctoral Student
The Rahbar Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rahbar
Email: ksimms@wakehealth.edu

Jugroop Singh

Masters Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Nain
Email: jsingh16@vt.edu

Jeffrey Soldate

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Email: jsoldate@vt.edu

Caleb Stine

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Munson
Email: cstine@vt.edu

Jeffrey Suhey

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: jsuhey@wakehealth.edu

Daniel Sweeney

Doctoral Student
Bioelectromechanical Systems Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: sweeneyd@vt.edu

Whitney Tatem

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gabler
Email: whitmt2@vt.edu

Sean Thomas

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Verbridge

Marc Thompson

Doctoral Student
Translational Oncology Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Drs. Bickford and Whittington
Email: marct@vt.edu

Briana Thompson

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Bourland
Email: brthomps@wakehealth.edu

Brian Tomblin

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel and Dr. Urban
Email: btomblin@wakehealth.edu

Brady Trevisan

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Bitar
Email: btrevisa@wakehealth.edu

Barath Udayasuryan

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Verbridge
Email: barath@vt.edu

Aaron Van Gorkom

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Brown
Email: avangork@wakehealth.edu

Kenneth Vogel

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Levi-Polyachenko
Email: kvogel@wakehealth.edu

Charlotte Waits

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rahbar
Email: cwaits@wakehealth.edu

Fanny Wang

Doctoral Student
The Hall Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Hall
Email: fawang@wakehealth.edu

Harleigh Warner

Doctoral Student
Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Wagner
Email: hwarner@wakehealth.edu

Michele Waters

Doctoral Student
Nanostructure Biopolymer Engineering Lab, Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. Van Dyke and VandeVord
Email: mwaters1@vt.edu

Caitlin Weaver

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: cweaver@wakehealth.edu

Kelsey Willson

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston Salem
Advisor: Dr. Atala
Email: kwillson@wakehealth.edu

Grace Wusk

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gabler
Email: gracew@vt.edu

Ted Xiao

Combination MD/PhD Student
TBD
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: TBD
Email: txiao@wakehealth.edu

Keegan Yates

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Untaroiu
Email: kmyates@vt.edu

Xin Ye

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: TBD
Email: xye@wakehealth.edu

Huaning Zhao

Doctoral Student
Chappell Lab
VTCRI – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Chappell
Email: huaning@vt.edu