Current Students


Khaled Adjerid

BME Option Student (PhD – ESM)
Socha Lab: Comparative Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Socha
Email: adjerid@vt.edu

Devon Albert

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Kemper
Email: dla16@vt.edu

Roy Anderson

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech
Advisor: Dr. Kemper
Email: roya93@vt.edu

Hasem Babahosseini

BME Option Student (PhD-ME)
VT MEMS Laboratory
Virginia Tech-Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Agah
Email: heb10001@vt.edu

Mohsen Bahrami

Doctoral Student
Radiologic Sciences
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Laurienti
Email: mbahrami@wakehealth.edu

Zachary Bailey

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech-Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. VandeVord
Email: zbailey2@vt.edu

Wade Baker

Master’s Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Untaroiu
Email: wadeb@vt.edu

Brittany Balhouse

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Integrative Tumor Ecology (LITE)
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Verbridge
Email: bnbalhou@vt.edu

Leonardo Bezerra

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Whitlow

Megan Bland

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: mbland27@vt.edu

Mohammad Bonakdar

BME Option Student (PhD – ME)
Bioelectromechanical Systems Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: mohammad@vt.edu

Eamon Campolettano

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: eamonc@vt.edu

Kristine Cantin

BME Option Student (PhD-ME)
Industrian and Systems Engineering
Virginia Tech
Advisor: Dr. Nussbaum
Email: kdc14@vt.edu

Zhenning Cao

Doctoral Student
Microfluidics Lab
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Lu
Email: caozn@vt.edu

Jewel Cary

Doctoral Student
IGEP – Regenerative Medicine
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Whittington
Email: jewelp7@vt.edu

Casey Costa

Combination MD/PhD Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel

Megan Cox

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Integrative Tumor Ecology (LITE)
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Verbridge
Email: meganc4@vt.edu

Danielle Cristino

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Hardy
Email: cristi07@vt.edu

William Crowe

Masters Student
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Zhao

Matthew Davis

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: mattdavi@wakehealth.edu

Willam Decker

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: wdecker@wakehealth.edu

Katherine Degan

Doctoral Student
Center for Regenerative Medicine: VTCRI
VTCRI - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gourdie
Email: ked4p@vt.edu

Harshawardhan Deshpande

Doctoral Student
Human Neuroimaging Lab
VTCRI - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. LaConte
Email: harsh87@vt.edu

Mahesh Devarasetty

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Soker
Email: mdevaras@wakehealth.edu

Matthew Dewitt

Doctoral Student
Bioelectromechanical Systems Lab
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. N Rylander and Davalos
Email: mttdwtt@vt.edu

Xu Dong

Doctoral Student
X-Ray Systems Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Cao
Email: xu14@vt.edu

Temple Douglas

Doctoral Student
MultiSTEPS/IGERT Program
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. Davalos & Cimini
Email: tadougla@vt.edu

Kristin Dunford

Master’s Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Kemper
Email: kmcamp@vt.edu

Amnah Eltahir

Doctoral Student
Human Neuroimaging Lab
VTCRI – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. LaConte
Email: amnah@vt.edu

Kevin Enck

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Opara
Email: kenck@wakehealth.edu

Michael Entz

Doctoral Student
Cardiac Arrhythmia Research Laboratory
VTCRI - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Poelzing
Email: mentz2@vt.edu

Mohammad Esfahani

BME Option Student (PhD-ISE)
Occupational Ergonomics and Biomechanics Laboratories
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Nussbaum
Email: mokhles@vt.edu

James Gaewsky

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: jgaewsky@wakehealth.edu

Joel Garrett

Doctoral Student
Socha Lab: Comparative Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Socha
Email: jfg@vt.edu

Ryan Gellner

Masters Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: gryan3@vt.edu

Greg Gillispie

Doctoral Student
WFU Innovation Center
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Opara
Email: ggillisp@wakehealth.edu

Jonathan Gladish

Granata Biomechanics Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Queen
Email: jgladish@vt.edu

Hao Gong

Doctoral Student
X-Ray Systems Lab
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Cao
Email: haog1@vt.edu

Berkan Guleyupoglu

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: bguleyup@wakehealth.edu

Nora Hlavac

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. VandeVord
Email: nhlavac@vt.edu

Yahya Hosseini

BME Option Student (PhD - ECE)
VT MEMS Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Agah
Email: hosseini@vt.edu

Cherice Hughes-Oliver

Doctoral Student
Granata Biomechanics Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Queen
Email: cnh4ph@vt.edu

Kristen Hulbert Renner

Doctoral Student
Kevin Granata Biomechanics Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Wang
Email: hulbertk@vt.edu

Tessa Hulburt

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus

Jennifer Huling

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. J. Yoo
Email: jhuling@wakehealth.edu

Alexandra Hyler

Doctoral Student
MultiSTEPS/IGERT Program
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. Davalos and Stremler
Email: ahyler@vt.edu

Jill Ivey

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Integrative Tumor Ecology (LITE)
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Verbridge
Email: jivey@vt.edu

Taylor Johnson

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gabler
Email: tj916@vt.edu

Megan Johnston

Doctoral Student
Quantitative Imaging Lab
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Y. Jung
Email: megjohns@wakehealth.edu

Derek Jones

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: derjones@wakehealth.edu

Mireille Kelley

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: mekelley@wakehealth.edu

Carlos Kengla

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. S. J. Lee
Email: ckengla@wakehealth.edu

Melissa Kenny

Doctoral Student
Socha Lab: Comparative Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Socha
Email: mck66@vt.edu

Dylan Knutson

Master’s Student
WFIRM
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Bitar
Email: dknutson@wakehealth.edu

Anjaney Kothari

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rajagopalan
Email: anjaney@vt.edu

Rebekah Less

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rajagopalan
Email: lessx002@vt.edu

Rui Liu

Doctoral Student
Biomedical Imaging Division
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Yu
Email: rliu@wakehealth.edu

Melvin Lorenzo

Doctoral Student
Bioelectromechanical Systems Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: mflorenzo@vt.edu

Sai Ma

Doctoral Student
Microfluidics Lab
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Lu
Email: masai@vt.edu

Andrea Mazzocchi

Doctoral Student
WFIRM
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Soker

Bryce McCarthy

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Levi-Polyachenko

Evan McConnell

Master’s Student
Kevin Granata Musculoskeletal Biomechanics Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Queen
Email: mevan6@vt.edu

Kyle McNamara

Combination MD/PhD Student
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: TBD
Email: kpmcnama@wakehealth.edu

Logan Miller

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: logmille@wakehealth.edu

Fatemeh Mokhtari

Doctoral Student
Radiologic Sciences
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Laurienti
Email: fmokhtar@wakehealth.edu

Jade Montgomery

Doctoral Student
Center for Regenerative Medicine: VTCRI
VTCRI – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gourdie
Email: jmont@vt.edu

Carolyn Mottley

Virginia Tech - Blacksburg
Advisor: Dr. Behkam
Email: carolm4@vt.edu

Calli Nguyen

Doctoral Student
Medical Physics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Munley
Email: canguyen@wakehealth.edu

Timothy O’Brien

Doctoral Student
Cancer Engineering
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Robertson
Email: tjobrien@vt.edu

Catherine Okoukoni

Combination MD/PhD Student
Medical Physics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Munley
Email: cokoukon@wakehealth.edu

Ryan Packett

Master’s Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: rpackett@wakehealth.edu

Wansoo Pak

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Untaroiu
Email: wspak@vt.edu

John Patalak

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: jpatalak@wakehealth.edu

Allison Pekkanen

Doctoral Student
The Long Group
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. N. Rylander and Long
Email: apekk@vt.edu

Olga Pen

Doctoral Student
X-Ray Systems Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Cao
Email: open@wakehealth.edu

Nils Potter

Doctoral Student
Nanostructured Biopolymer Engineering Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Van Dyke
Email: npotter2@vt.edu

Shiny Rajan

Doctoral Student
The Hall Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Hall
Email: shrajan@wakehealth.edu

Sabah Rezvani

Doctoral Student
Orthopedic Mechanobiology Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Wang
Email: sabahrez@vt.edu

Felipe Rivas Duarte

Master’s Student
Rahbar Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rahbar
Email: frivasdu@wakehealth.edu

Ali Reza Roghanizad

BME Option Student (MS-Mechanical Engineering)
The Heat Transfer Measurements Laboratory
Blacksburg Campus - Virginia Tech
Advisor: Dr. Thomas Diller
Email: aroghani@vt.edu

Andrea Rolong

Doctoral Student
Bioelectromechanical Systems Lab
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: andrear2@vt.edu

Mona Saffarzadeh

Doctoral Student
TBD
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: TBD
Email: msaffarz@wakehealth.edu

Etai Sapoznik

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Soker
Email: esapozni@wakehealth.edu

Scott-Eugene Saverot

Doctoral Student
Laboratory for Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rajagopalan
Email: ssaverot@vt.edu

John Scanlon

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gabler
Email: john91@vt.edu

Kyle Scheck

Masters Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Untaroiu
Email: kyles5@vt.edu

Samantha Schoell

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: sschoell@wakehealth.edu

Jamelle Simmons

Doctoral Student
Laboratory of Vascular Biology
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Y.W. Lee
Email: jmsimm13@vt.edu

Kelli Simms

Doctoral Student
The Rahbar Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rahbar
Email: ksimms@wakehealth.edu

Jeffrey Soldate

Doctoral Student
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus

David Sproule

Master’s Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rowson
Email: dsproule@vt.edu

Jeffrey Suhey

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gayzik
Email: jsuhey@wakehealth.edu

Daniel Sweeney

Doctoral Student
Bioelectromechanical Systems Laboratory
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Davalos
Email: sweeneyd@vt.edu

Whitney Tatem

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gabler
Email: whitmt2@vt.edu

Patrick Thayer

Doctoral Student
Tissue Engineering Lab
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Goldstein
Email: pthayer3@vt.edu

Marc Thompson

Doctoral Student
Translational Oncology Lab
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg
Advisor: Drs. Bickford and Whittington
Email: marct@vt.edu

Aaron Van Gorkom

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Brown

Kenneth Vogel

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Levi-Polyachenko

Charlotte Waits

Doctoral Student
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Rahbar
Email: cwaits@wakehealth.edu

Fanny Wang

Doctoral Student
The Hall Lab
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Hall
Email: fawang@wakehealth.edu

Harleigh Warner

Doctoral Student
Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Wagner
Email: hwarner@wakehealth.edu

Michele Waters

Doctoral Student
Nanostructure Biopolymer Engineering Lab, Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Drs. Van Dyke and VandeVord
Email: mwaters1@vt.edu

Laura Watkins

Orthopaedic Surgery Research
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Danelson
Email: lcwatkin@wakehealth.edu

Caitlin Weaver

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest - Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: Dr. Stitzel
Email: cweaver@wakehealth.edu

Grace Wusk

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech - Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Gabler

Ted Xiao

Combination MD/PhD Student
TBD
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: TBD
Email: txiao@wakehealth.edu

Keegan Yates

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Untaroiu
Email: kmyates@vt.edu

Xin Ye

Doctoral Student
Center for Injury Biomechanics
Wake Forest – Winston-Salem Campus
Advisor: TBD
Email: xye@wakehealth.edu

Huaning Zhao

Doctoral Student
Chappell Lab
VTCRI – Blacksburg Campus
Advisor: Dr. Chappell
Email: huaning@vt.edu